We switched to a manual approval system for registration on this forum, as this makes it easier to keep bots out of the forum. We'll approve everybody who doesn't look like a bot!

Note taking workflow and improvements to Zettlr

edited May 10 in Features

Hi everyone!

I'm a PhD student struggling with note-taking (read: I'm not taking any notes), thus I'm trying this Zottelkasten graph-based method to improve and motivate myself.
The main reason to why I usually don't take notes is because if I'm not able to search, retrieve and link them... they may as well not exist. A webpage that is not linked by any other webpage does not exist. A forgotten note in a notebook does not exist for me.
The Zottelkasten method seems to solve this problem, so I'm quite excited to try it!

I have chosen Zettlr as my note-taking app for various reasons:

• First of all because it works with plain file texts
  • Nice integration with Zotero

Since it is currently in active development I'm interested to understand if it is going to evolve in a way that will suit my needs or not (maybe my point of view will help it going in a direction I like :) )

Workflow

• Single notes folder: otherwise a considerable cognitive effort goes into where to put the note. There is another pics folder that contains linked media that do not have a human-readable name.

• File name format "{ID} {FILENAME}": This will enable easier interaction with other systems. The initial ID ensures the notes will always be chronologically sorted, and the title ensures easier explorability without opening each file.

• Tag as much as possible the notes: topics (e.g. nlp, probability), category (e.g. idea, original). The impossible-structure tree that I would have thought must be implemented through tags.

• Note structure: I'm trying to establish a more o less standardized structure for every note (to avoid to think how to structure every note). I'm converging toward this structure:

Features I seek