We switched to a manual approval system for registration on this forum, as this makes it easier to keep bots out of the forum. We'll approve everybody who doesn't look like a bot!

Setting document titles, YAML Frontmatter, and git hooks

Hi folks!

Firstly, thanks for creating Zettlr; I'm new to both Zettlr and Zettelkasten, and not sure if it'll be for me long-term, but am excited to give it a shot!

Looking at screenshots on https://docs.zettlr.com/en/guides/guide-zettelkasten/ and https://zettlr.com/#, I can see that on the Sidebar the documents are shown with headings, rather than their IDs (with the modified date, ID, and number of tags on the line below).

1. What is valid syntax for defining a document title such that it appears in the sidebar? Is there any documentation you can point me to about this, or the layout of the sidebar in general? I couldn't find anything as comprehensive as I'd hoped.

Apparently using YAML Frontmatter works, but I wonder if there are alternatives? For example I tried to use a Markdown heading, but that didn't show up in the sidebar.

2. Related: Is there any documentation abour what YAML Frontmatter is supported by Zettlr?

3. Is there (or will there be) an ability to have Zettlr automatically commit to git when a file is saved? I've created a git repo in my Zettlr directory, but ideally I'd like to not forget to commit changes, so an auto-commit would be handy.

Comments

• Bonjour!

1. Valid syntax is, for now, only YAML titles (see snippet below) — Zettlr will either take the filename sans extension, or, if a YAML frontmatter title is given, that. Nothing else will work, which is partially a conscious decision.
    2. I'm actually not sure, but what's supported so far are the title and keywords-properties. If it's not in the docs, feel free to contribute and add the documentation on that!