The Zettlr Discussion Forums now allow posting using Markdown!

Cite from Mendeley

edited May 16 in Features

Hi, I am just starting to look at your amazing web and app.

My university provides me with an institutional Mendeley account. You describe how to cite if the references are in Zotero with that "Better json" format.

Do you know an easy way to use Mendeley instead? (The export options given by the desktop Mendeley app are bib, ris and EndNote).

Thank you very much in any case!

Comments

• Hey abernal,

first welcome to the community of Zettlr! :)

Then thank you for your post, because I knew that there were some users of Mendeley already asking this question, but I plainly lost the information on what export formats Mendeley uses. But now that you've provided them, I'll see to adding this enhancement!

Cheers!

• Thanks for your replay,

I attach a screenshot of Mendeley "Export" dialog box.

However, since I am new to reference managers too, I am not sure whether taking

advantage of the institutional Mendeley account or go with Zotero, so, in principle, this is not a "deal breaker" for me.

Thank you very much for your time and effort,

Antonio

• Perfect, thank you!

To everybody: If you spot any Javascript library able to convert BibTex to CSL JSON, please post it here! This would significantly increase development speed :)

I only need something to convert to CSL JSON so that I can directly feed different formats to Citeproc.js!

• Is there any major advantages/disadvantages of Mendeley over Zotero? I'm also a bit lost between the two, never settled for one instead of another.

If support is better for Zotero in Zettlr, I would probably do the switch (as Mendeley is closed source anyway)